5 Five Delivery

Search This Blog

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

New restaurant hall of famers inducted

By Deana Lancaster, North Shore News Wednesday, April 01, 2009

Call it sweet success.
North Vancouver chocolatier Thomas Haas was among those inducted this year into the B.C. Restaurant Hall of Fame. On Monday, more than 600 foodies from the British Columbia culinary scene were among the first to see the new wing of the Vancouver Convention and Exhibition Centre, when they gathered there to celebrate their finest. The 2009 inductees to the B.C. Restaurant Hall of Fame are eleven individuals in varying categories. They are:
- Pioneers: George Frankel, Bruno Patassini, and Primo Villanueva
- Industry Award, Front of House: Darren Gates, Jean Turcotte
- Industry Award, Back of House: Thomas Haas, Scott Jaeger
- Friend of the Industry: Sid Cross, Jamie Maw
- Active Restaurateur: David Aisenstat, Geoffrey Howes
This year's Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to former West Van resident, freelance food writer Duncan Holmes. The B.C. Restaurant Hall of Fame was founded in 2004 to celebrate and promote excellence in B.C.'s culinary traditions; and to pay tribute to the outstanding individuals, past and present, who have shaped the industry. Inductees were chosen by a panel of 80 judges comprised of industry leaders from throughout the province. For more information, visit http://www.bcrhof.com/.

No comments:

Post a Comment